Slow Cooker Baked Potatoes

Apologies, I know it’s been a while since I posted here but life is just plain crazy at the moment!  However, I came across a wonderful idea on a blog this morning and just had to share it.

The idea is for cooking baked potatoes in a slow cooker.  Such a simple idea, yet in all my years of cooking I’ve never tried it.  The original blog post was on the wonderful SkipToMyLou.org so please do take a look: Crock Pot Baked Potatoes

Disclaimer – I only read about this today so I’ve not tested it yet myself, but I will do so and post back with my results!  If you’re going to try this, I strongly suggest doing it while you’re at home the first time so you can keep an eye on them, and have a backup plan should they not turn out well!

The method is quite simply to wash and dry the potatoes, wrap them tightky in foil, place them in the crock with the lid on and cook on high for 8 hours.

Exact cooking times will of course vary depending on the temperature of your slow cooker, and the size of your potatoes.  Reading through the comments on that blog it seems that they must be done on a high setting and well wrapped, though some people reported good results from coating in oil rather than wrapping in foil.

Anyway, I thought it was interesting and worth sharing.  If you try this, please leave a comment to let people know how well it worked.  I’ll certainly be trying it myself, and if the results are good I’ll have to add a short note next time I update my Slow Cooker Magic Recipes book in Kindle!

Leave a Reply

